Urban Street Design Manual

 

Abu Dhabi Urban Planning Council (UPC) has recently unveiled the new street design manual standards in accordance with the guiding principles of Plan Abu Dhabi 2030 which call for safer, more comfortable and aesthetic street environments across the Emirate.

The new street design will provide genuine choice of movement by walking, cycling and public transport modes as well as in private motor vehicles. Abu Dhabi residents and visitors will start witnessing the transformation as early as 2010 when a City Centre street will be constructed according to the new design standards.

The new urban street design manual for Abu Dhabi has been developed by UPC in co-ordination with the Department of Transport, the Department of Municipal Affairs, the Traffic Police and other relevant agencies and will apply to all streets in the Emirate including those parts scheduled for urbanization by 2030. Freeways and rural arterial roads are not intended to be part of the manual.

Highlights of the design direction include enhanced connectivity between streets and water, the creation of a connected multi-modal street hierarchy, provisions for open space and community facilities, innovative shading and cooling solutions, expanded managed parking spaces and an overall pedestrian-friendly orientation.

The new streetscape is being designed in tandem with the overall development of Abu Dhabi as stipulated in Plan 2030 and many of its elements are inexorably linked to community regeneration projects and the creation of new residential and commercial projects across the Emirate.

According to Plan Abu Dhabi 2030, streets and buildings should be human-scaled and oriented to the pedestrian. Buildings need to relate to streets and their coexistence should provide for good network connectivity further relieving vehicular congestion. The creation of complete neighborhoods with inviting open space, transit and retail facilities are also central to the plan which also makes a strong case for well designed neighbourhood-serving parks and open spaces within the block.

Following the guidance of the manual for designing new streets and retrofitting existing ones will ensure that streets are designed appropriately for their surroundings. For instance, streets that are lined with popular retail shops like Hamdan St. in Abu Dhabi or Khalifa St. in Al Ain will feature wider sidewalks with more shade, buffering of sidewalks from traffic lanes, and possibilities for sidewalk cafes and street trees.

The urban street design manual is primarily based on certain key design principles which includes safety for all street users and the acknowledgement that all great street designs beginning with pedestrians ensure universal access. Besides these, the manual also takes into account the principle that street connectivity reflects 2030 goals for Abu Dhabi Emirate, while also supporting Estidama initiatives.

The urban street design manual pays particular attention to streetscapes and gives designers the tools to ensure that all of the elements that make up the area between the curb and building fronts are in the right place and are the right size for the context. Unobstructed pedestrian walkways are required and the proper placement of light standards, traffic sign poles, utility boxes, benches and plantings are now mandatory for designers of new or redesigned streets.

Urban Street Design Brochure
Urban Street Design Manual

دليل تصميم الشوارع الحضرية

 

أزاح مجلس أبوظبي للتخطيط العمراني، الجهة المسؤولة عن مستقبل البيئة العمرانية لإمارة أبوظبي، اليوم الستار عن معايير تصميم الشوارع الجديدة والتي تتماشى مع المبادئ التوجيهية لخطة أبوظبي 2030 والرامية إلى إقامة شوارع تتمتع بقدر أكبر من السلامة والراحة والمزايا الجمالية في كافة أرجاء الإمارة.

ويتميز التصميم الجديد لشوارع العاصمة بتعدد خيارات الحركة والتنقل، سواء للمشاة أو لمستخدمي الدراجات والمواصلات العامة والسيارات الخاصة. وسيلاحظ سكان أبوظبي والقادمون إليها مظاهر التغيير في شوارع المدينة مع بداية هذا العام عندما يتم الانتهاء من أحد شوارع مركز المدينة وفقاً لمعايير التصميم الجديدة.

وقد قام مجلس أبوظبي للتخطيط العمراني بتطوير دليل التصميم الحضري للشوارع بالتعاون مع دائرة النقل، ودائرة الشؤون البلدية، وشرطة المرور، وبقية المؤسسات ذات الصلة، حيث ستطبق معايير التصميم الجديدة على كافة شوارع الإمارة بما فيها الطرق التي تشكل جزءاً من عملية التطوير العمراني لخطة أبوظبي 2030، في حين تستثنى الطرق السريعة والطرق المؤدية إلى الأرياف.

وتتمثل أبرز معالم التصميم الجديد في تعزيز الترابط ما بين الشوارع ، وإرساء تسلسل مترابط متعدد الأنماط للشوارع، وتوفير المساحات المفتوحة ومرافق المجتمع، وتسهيل حلول التظليل والتبريد المبتكرة، وكذلك توافر مساحات لمواقف السيارات تتم إدارتها بالشكل المطلوب، فضلاً عن تعزيز حركة المشاة بنحو إجمالي.

ويجري تصميم مخطط الشوارع الجديد بالتناغم مع عملية تطوير أبوظبي الشاملة التي نصت عليها خطة 2030، حيث ترتبط العديد من مكونات الخطة بنحو سلس ومتواصل مع مشاريع تطوير المناطق وكذلك مع المشروعات الخاصة بإقامة مناطق سكنية وتجارية جديدة ضمن الإمارة.

ووفقاً لخطة أبوظبي 2030 يتحتم على تصميم الشوارع والمباني أن تأخذ في الاعتبار متطلبات السكان وأن يتم توجيهها بنحو يشجع على حركة المشاة. من هنا، ثمة حاجة إلى نوع من الترابط ما بين المباني والشوارع بحيث يعمل الاثنان معاً على توفير نموذج ترابط فاعل يخفف العبء عن الاختناقات في حركة المركبات. إن إقامة أحياء متكاملة بمساحات مفتوحة رحبة ومحطات للنقل العام ومحلات للبيع بالتجزئة تعد أحد أبرز السمات المركزية التي تقوم عليها خطة أبوظبي 2030 والتي تؤكد على وجود متنزهات وحدائق ومساحات مفتوحة لخدمة الأحياء ضمن المناطق المختلفة.

ومن خلال اعتماد توجيهات الدليل المعني بتصميم الشوارع الجديدة أو القائمة التي يجري تطويرها، ستأخذ الشوارع التصميم الملائم وفقاً للأجواء والأماكن المحيطة بها. فمثلاً تضم الشوارع المرتبطة بمحلات التسوق مثل شارع حمدان في أبوظبي وشارع خليفة في مدينة العين مسارات جانبية رحبة ومظللة بشكل أكبر، إلى جانب مناطق عازلة من المسارات الجانبية من خطوط المرور مع إمكانية وجود مقاهٍ جانبية وبعض الأشجار.

ويعتمد دليل التصميم الحضري للشوارع على مبادئ التصميم الرئيسية بما فيها تعزيز السلامة لكافة مستخدمي الشوارع، والتأكد إن التصميم المثالي للشوارع يبدأ بتلبية متطلبات المشاة من جانب ويتكفل بإرساء نقاط وصول شاملة ومتكاملة، ويعمل على تحقيق متطلبات الاستدامة البيئية المتضمنة في مبادرة "إستدامة" التي أطلقها مجلس أبوظبي للتخطيط العمراني من جانب آخر.

ويولي دليل التصميم الحضري للشوارع أهمية خاصة إلى مخطط الشوارع من خلال منح المصممين الأدوات الكفيلة بإدراج كافة مكونات المنطقة الكائنة ما بين الأرصفة وواجهات المباني في موقعها الملائم ووفق حجمها الصحيح. وفضلاً عن ذلك، فثمة حاجة إلى وجود مسارات جانبية مفتوحة للمشاة مع التأكيد على إلزام مصممي الشوارع الجديدة أو تلك التي يعاد تصميمها بتزويدها بالإضاءة، وإشارات المرور وصناديق الخدمات ومقاعد الجلوس والأشجار في الأماكن الملائمة.

دليل تصميم الشوارع الحضرية
لمحة عن دليل تصميم الشوارع الحضري - أبوظبي